Nail wraps have been around for years now.  I’ve tried several brands and have always enjoyed using them.  Some were good and some would barely last the day.  Recently I was introduced to the world of Jamberry and my consultant gave me a sample and told me to try their Seven Day Challenge.  I wore them for 7 days and and I loved them!  These wraps were provided to me for reviewing purposes…but I did end up buying a starter kit!

   
There is a bit more application work with these wraps, you have to heat them.  You can do it with a hair dryer or buy their mini heater.  The wraps come in a variety of sizes and there should be enough for at least two applications with leftovers for accent nails and even for toenails.

  
I found there is a bit of a learning curve with application.  Finding the size is easy, heating which warms up the adhesive is easy as well.  Application to the nail can be finicky, sometimes it would not go on straight, but I was able to peel it up, heat it again and get it on right.  There is some rubbing required and the excess wrap needs to be filed from the tip.

  
I really loved the way these looked and I had a variety of options on how I wanted to the design to be.  I could have had Tinkerbell on more nails or not used her at all!

  
Wear time is at least a week, I got a solid 2 weeks from these wraps and only changed them because I had significant nail growth.  (Before and after pictures above).  There will be some tip wear as well.  Removal is applying acetone and letting it seep under the edges to loosen the adhesive.  I peeled them off (not a recommended way of removal) my nails are in bad shape and I did damage the top layer of my nail doing this.

  
Before I talk about pros and cons of using these wraps, the above picture shows a way to use “leftovers” by combining  wraps from two different sets.

I have a couple of cons to this product.  First is the price.  A package of wraps starts at $19 CAD.  Jamberry figures this is cheaper than a salon manicure, which is true, but you may not have the salon quality.  Heating the wraps with a hairdryer is cumbersome, so it’s very much easier to use their heater, that’s another $20 or so CAD.  Tip lifting is another con, until you have perfected the application process, you may have some lifting of the wrap around the edges.  You can heat the wrap while on the nail to smooth down.

The pros are that there are a variety of patterns and finishes and there are always new ones coming out.  The wear time is awesome, if you have a problem with nail polish always chipping off, this product could be your answer!  They don’t fade or lose their pattern during wear and you can wash your hands, wash your hair, scrub your floors and they will stay on!  Fun, it’s just fun to have patterns or characters on your nails, there are themed wraps available for holidays and plain ones if you just want a nail polish look.  I enjoyed them so much that I did buy the starter kit, like I said at the beginning, it includes the heater, some accessories and a choice of some wraps.  If you are interested, you can check out my consultant’s website here, you’ll find lots of beautiful wraps and I’m sure you’ll be intrigued!

 

