My last Birchbox for 2015 arrived and I have to say that once again I’m disappointed.  The box itself is lovely, but the contents were underwhelming.

 

I received another leave in conditioner, I am never thrilled to receive hair products, but I do use them just to see how they are.  I also received a Naobay moisturizer, I received a sample of this already from my September ipsy bag.  It works fine, but there are others I reach for more often.

  
I was very excited to see this next product in my box, but less so when I went to use it.  Dr. Lipp is a lanolin cream.  Lanolin has great moisturizing and healing properties and I have used it in the past.  This one is packaged to be used as a lip balm, but there was hardly anything in the package.  I pushed and squeezed and crunched the tube to get any out.  There is less than a third of the package size of product in this tube.  I wouldn’t buy it anyways as you can pick up a generous tube for under $10 CAD in the baby section at Walmart.

  
The next product is an eyeshadow sampler from Coastal Scents, we had the opportunity to choose the colour this month and I was fast enough that I was able to get the one I wanted.  If you have ever received a sample from The Balm, you know they really don’t give you a very big size, well this sample was on par with that.  I laughed out loud when I opened it because it was so tiny.  The colours are pretty and I will use it.

  
Last month I received a perfume sample from My Daughter in the scent Joyful.  I guess Birchbox figured I needed to sample the other scent in Always Loved, so I received that.  I am not impressed.  We also received a coupon for $10 off any $35 dollar purchase at the Birchbox store online.  It expires in 7 weeks.

  
This box could have been filled with exciting samples to use for the holidays, I feel it really missed the mark for me.  I realize that someone else might think this is a great box, but samples with hardly any product inside and boxes that are similar to previous months really don’t thrill me.  I’ll hold off until January and see what is offered in the new year, I’ll cancel if I don’t see an improvement.

  

